Mr Glyn Early

Glyn joined Luton Community Housing in 2012 on his retirement as Managing Director of a long-standing family building firm. Glyn brings practical experience of house-building and public service contracts, as well as
local knowledge. He is keenly interested in supporting local charitable organisations, especially in his fundraising with Luton Rotary Club.


Ms Sarah Markham

Sarah joined the Board of Luton Community Housing in 2012. She works for Luton Borough Council (LBC) as Housing Services Manager, has also been a trainer and has previous experience working with another housing association.


Mr Alan Thompson

Alan retired as Housing Strategy Officer for Luton Borough Council, in 2015, after working in Luton for 40 years. He joined the LCH Board initially as an observer, in September 2015 and then as a full member soon after. Alan brings a wealth of local housing knowledge
and experience.

Iain Smith

Iain retired recently as a solicitor working in local authority. He attended his first Luton Community Housing Board meeting as an Observer in July 2016 and became an official Board member in March 2017.


Mr Mostaque Koyes

The latest LCH Board member, Mostaque is a director of a leading

local business and has a wide network of influential contacts. He has introduced many initiatives into the community: Community Magazine, Inspire Business Magazine, Business Curry Club, LETS Fair, LETS Hub, Community Soup Kitchen and the annual Community Awards Ceremony.  By sharing his experience, Mostaque aims to make a sustainable difference

to Luton residents.


And of course, our Chair –

Dr. David Cheesman

David spent many years as Head of Research at the Housing Corporation (now the Homes and Communities Agency). Since retiring, he has been a Visiting Professor at Sheffield Hallam University and is now a Policy Adviser at the Financial Conduct Authority. David has lived in Luton since the 1980s and is concerned that the town does not always get its fair share of opportunities. He has been Chair of Luton Community Housing since 2011.

Meet the board

The Board represents the diversity and professionalism that Luton Community Housing works towards. Its members are all local representatives from Luton and Bedfordshire. They all take a keen interest in guiding Luton Community Housing to fulfil its five-year business plan and its professional mission – which is to support and help people find accommodation.

Mr Bashir Ul Hafeez

(Vice Chair and Chair, 2006 – 2011)

Bashir was a Principal Officer in local government and became a Councillor in the Borough of Newham, serving as Chair of several committees. He retired to Luton in 2002, and became involved with Luton Community Housing shortly afterwards.


Mr Abdul Malik

Local businessman Abdul moved to Luton in the 1960s after qualifying as an engineer. He has been involved with race and community relations in a voluntary capacity, and represented minorities with local government, chairing equalities panels. He was a lay member of the local police authority and has been on the Board of Luton Law Centre. He has been on the Luton Community Housing Board since 2003.


Mr Peter Rickard

Peter has been a tenant of Luton Community Housing since 1971. He and his wife live in the Hightown area of Luton and he joined the Luton Community Housing Board as a tenant representative in 2007. He brings practical experience of being a tenant.

© Copyright Luton Community Housing 2017

Like us

Follow us